Ostade A'dam

Feed it! The Music Movement Project

Elisabeth Kelvin and Friends


Music and dance feed each other. Unique combinations of instrumental sounds and body movements explore our hunger to express the inexplicable. Boureé, Bossa and beyond!

Why Music and Movement? There a numerous correspondences: movement, gesture, space, conflict and resolution, time, and framework, performance to name a few! Why clarinet, guitar and dance? Though the performers are from many places, they are all musically linked to Australia. Having met in Melbourne and Sydney, they maintained friendships and musical common interests over the years.

Elisabeth Kelvin (clarinet/bass clarinet) is an interdisciplinary arts practitioner exploring correspondences between contemporary music, modern choreography, and abstract art. She performs and exhibits at festivals, galleries, educational institutions, and numerous "unconventional" venues in the USA, Europe and Australia, presenting her own compositions and collaborations.

Elisabeth is one half of the multidisciplinary arts practice with composer John Plankenhorn. Together, they host cultural soirees filled with music, art, dance and humour, and continually develop new forms of creative expression. Currently living in Vienna, Elisabeth is a member of 4 States Sessions Free Improvisation Group which performs regularly in Austria, Germany and Hungary.

Marion Schaap (guitar) and Peter Constant (guitar) are the Z.o.o. guitar duo, a virtuosic ensemble described in Classical Guitar magazine as "premiere league quality […] effortless musicianship and wonderful technique".

Peter and Marion are the artistic directors of Stichting Gitaarorkest Nederland, and have led both the Netherlands and European Youth Guitar Orchestras. In 2014 they co-founded a fresh and innovative guitar ensemble, Gitaarsalon Roadshow. Since 2016 Marion teaches at the Conservatory of Amsterdam.

Nadia Kelvin (dance/choreography) a former professional violinist, working with the Australian Chamber Orchestra and Sydney Symphony Orchestra, brings a wealth of personal and professional experience to the musical and technical aspects of her dance and choreography. Representing England in National and International Latin Dancesport events, she also performs in various corporate and private functions and participates in collaborations with original choreography.

Concept, directing, text: Elisabeth Kelvin
Composition: J.S. Bach, Astor Piazzolla, Leo Brouwer, Elisabeth Kelvin, John Plankenhorn, Phillip Houghton
Dancing: Elisabeth Kelvin, Nadia Kelvin
Performers: Elisabeth Kelvin (clarinet/bass clarinet/movement), Marion Schaap (guitar), Peter Constant (guitar), Nadia Kelvin (dance/choreography)
Choreography: Elisabeth Kelvin, Nadia Kelvin, John Plankenhorn
Costumes: Nadia Kelvin
Artistic director: Elisabeth Kelvin
Thanks to: Konstantin Koukias, Foundation IHOS Amsterdam

Duration: 110 mins.

Website Elisabeth Kelvin
Facebook event page